Stuff – Some Interesting, Some Not So Interesting

Yesterday, MBJr. and I were in Baskin Robbins buying some ice cream. They had Rihanna’s “Umbrella” song playing. MBJr. said to me, “I hate this song! All she says in the whole thing is ‘Umbrella – Ella, Ella, Ella’. I smiled at him, nodded absently and continued to devour my single scoop of Very Berry Strawberry ice cream. I thought to myself, “Well, I still like it, kind of, but I know where the little man is coming from. And yet, I read this morning that Rihanna may make chart history! Apparently her single is poised to become the longest-running number one single for more than a decade! (link via Barbados Free Press) Wow! That is no mean feat! And when I think of it, MBJr. never used to complain about that song… I guess because its been played over and over, everywhere, and for a long time, he has just reached saturation point. Well, I hope he has to endure it awhile longer, because I hope Rihanna does make that record! In fact, I hope she goes to fifteen weeks at number one! A big up goes out to the Caribbean sistren!

In other surfing, I came across this item about Danny English, a Jamaican entertainer, being denied bail. Apparently English is before the courts on carnal abuse and indecent assault charges. It is alleged that he has been messing with this fifteen year old girl. That is bad, because English is a big, hardback man. What makes it even worse though, is that it is said he has been messing with the same girl since she was TWELVE! TWELVE, YOU KNOW! Yow, fifteen is young, very young, but twelve is so off the charts! My God! If its true, the man is a paedophile! If its true, I hope he gets a very, very harsh sentence! An example must be made of him. Damned little mofo! He hardly has any good songs anyway, IMHO! Cho!

I noticed also that Peter Ram, another Caribbean artiste, (Soca this time though) made the newspapers recently for cursing out gays. Here is what was written (link via Bajan Reporter):

Barbadian calypsonian Peter Ram was forced to apologise at a Soca Monarch competition in St. Vincent over the weekend after he used obscene language to criticize homosexuals.

Police and officials of the Carnival Development Corporation (CDC) forced the singer on stage to offer a public apology.

The CDC chairman Dennis Ambrose said they don’t condone that type of behaviour at shows whether it is local or foreign artistes.

Ambrose said that the incident involving Ram, whose tune “I Need a Woman By My Side” is enjoying substantial air play was the only damper to what was a great weekend for Vincy Mas.

Interesting, huh? Made to apologise… heh, heh, heh, heh, heh.

Well, I am against homophobia, so that is a good thing. I don’t support lyrics that promote hate. In the same post, the Bajan Reporter talks about a post by Peter Boyce in which he implies that the gays are getting too powerful. He speaks of a controversy that flared up over Peter Ram’s lyrics in the song, “I Need A Woman By My Side”, that part where he sings:

“It is written in Leviticus,
Man shouldn’t lie with man,
Its abomination!”

Boyce seems to suggest that he thinks there is nothing wrong with Peter Ram’s lyrics. Well, I agree with Peter Boyce. Does it sound like I am contradicting myself? I don’t think so. It is one thing to disagree with a homosexual persons’ practices, and quite another thing to promote killing or beating that same person because you disagree with their practices. I feel you should be able to voice your opinion, but I think promoting beating or killing them for those homosexual practices is wrong.

I took MBJr. to watch the latest “Harry Potter” movie last night. It was pretty decent, but it wasn’t “A-1, top notch” stuff. Let me put it to you this way. You know when you go to a movie and at the end people stand an applaud? Well, at the end of this move, a few diehard fans were trying to get some applause going, but the general audience in the theatre wasn’t feeling it. What resulted was a semi-smattering of applause. When they started, I even said to myself, “No, this movie wasn’t really worth applause.” I actually said this out loud and MBJr. heard me. He replied in his most threatening voice, “Never say that!”, so its clear he disagrees with me, but hey, he is seven! Still, the show was entertaining. Go and see it if you’re into that sort of stuff.

Hey, I noticed that WordPress dot Com listed a site called ” ” in its “Fastest Growing blogs list. Can anyone tell me why this site should make that list and my blog seems not to have ever done so? Might it be because Priyanka Chopra looks like this? 😉

I bet thats what it is. After all, her site is mainly some pictures… Oh well, men are sexist, what can I say? 😀

Ok, here comes the part you may consider “not so interesting” (perhaps) : WordPress has written a FaceBook application. Now you can do some blogging from within FaceBook! I decided to try it out, in fact, this post is actually being written from within FaceBook, so clearly it works.

Now if I were a person who was into FaceBook, i.e I used it and really liked it, I might find this useful, but really, I hardly ever use FaceBook. I am mainly trying this out because I am curious about how it works, Its cool that they are able to do things like this, and eventually they will make the links with some other online application that I really want to use.

Based on stuff I have heard though, there are a number of people that I know of who use both WordPress and FaceBook, and so I will leave this post up. Guys and gals, you know who you are… If you use both FaceBook and WordPress, you can now blog from within FaceBook, if you should choose to do so.

Selah.

5 Responses to “Stuff – Some Interesting, Some Not So Interesting”

  1. so many topics what can i say. agree with you on the peter ram issue, didnt know that about riahanna, shame on danny english and i’ll watch harry potter on video like i have all the others

  2. TMI bro TMI…. i cringe at the very thought of Danny English and that girl… ever seen the man ugh!! so coarse and disgusting. I don’t think i can say what should happen to him publicly ….. The Peter Ram issue reminds of and incident in Ja where a woman was physically abused for voicing her opinion about some gays and their conduct in a store in front of some young school children…. got their ass (sic) whupped… voilence no, but if i don’t like i am going to say so…. GO RIAHANNA GO ….. Harrry Potter who????

  3. Hmmm… You made an interesting comment there, that you didn’t expound on!

    “Well, I am against homophobia, so that is a good thing. I don’t support lyrics that promote hate. In the same post, the Bajan Reporter talks about a post by Peter Boyce in which he implies that the gays are getting too powerful. He speaks of a controversy that flared up over Peter Ram’s lyrics in the song, “I Need A Woman By My Side”, that part where he sings:

    “It is written in Leviticus,
    Man shouldn’t lie with man,
    Its abomination!”

    Boyce seems to suggest that he thinks there is nothing wrong with Peter Ram’s lyrics. Well, I agree with Peter Boyce. Does it sound like I am contradicting myself? I don’t think so. It is one thing to disagree with a homosexual persons’ practices, and quite another thing to promote killing or beating that same person because you disagree with their practices. I feel you should be able to voice your opinion, but I think promoting beating or killing them for those homosexual practices is wrong.”

    If I understand you correctly, you are saying that while you, personally, think that homosexuality is wrong/should not be/a sin/whatever you want to call it – you don’t subscribe to judgement of another person’s choices/actions/lifestyles – and particularly, in any form of abuse against them for those choices/actions/lifestyles.

    Did I read you correctly? If not, please clarify, because maybe I did misunderstand…

    My peronal opinion, is that the Bible gives a clear answer on the issue of homosexuality… Yet, I have many homosexual friends, and I refuse to judge anyone because God knows, I fall FAAAARRR short of perfect in every way – so who am I to pick on one issue, when I have so many of my own!!!

    Interestingly enough, I recently worked with a client who was gay, and that day, my 20 year old niece was with us, and he really enjoyed ‘giving back’ to her his own advice and perspective on life – I’m sure based on his own personal path through life. He shared with her about being smart with money, saving, living on real money and not on credit – and he shared with her that he is a Christian, and that the Bible clearly showed him that his lifestyle was wrong, but that was something he struggles with every day.

    You know what I think – what I KNOW – God does say homosexuality is a sin, He says fornication is a sin, He says that abuse of alcohol is a sin, He says that infidelity is a sin, He says that selfishness is a sin, He says that caring about money to the point of worship of it is a sin…

    Do you see where I am going with this – show me someone without sin!!! Who are we to judge one person’s sin against another… The Bible tells us CLEARLY that God loves us all – despite our sin – He is there – He never leaves us – we leave Him!!!

    So… if you sit in judgement of others, be sure to look within yourself first for your own sins – because we all FALL SHORT….

    PS – Bro – I’ve sent you an email – please help!!!
    (Kisses)
    7

  4. I hope they lock up the wretched English and throw away the darn key. So anyway, that MBJr is something else, hehe.

    I’ve made the fastest growing list a few times I notice. You probably haven’t made it because your blog always has plenty hits and therefore grows at a constant rate.

    I think my blog probably makes the list whenever I do a few ‘hot’ posts in quick succession and get plenty hits. Especially if I post on something topical. Can you believe that when I check my hits counter, even now, I still get a lot of people who had were searching for info on Akon and the 14 yo and look how long ago I did that post. It’s still the most common reason people visit my blog.

    Yeah for Rihanna! Any success story from the caribbean is something to cheer about.

  5. You are sure good at eliciting some robust responses. And not a word about the leather bound specimen depicted with such detail. Anyhow, she look nice, still.

Leave a Reply

